The iconic International Rally of Whangarei returns for 2019

The 2019 International Rally of Whangarei is shaping up to be a great international event.

The 2019 event will include a re-invigorated Clubmans event (ROW), a new classic 2wd class run to the Otago Classic rules and changes to the FIA APRC event, to cater to all teams and spectators. The recent changes to the APRC for 2019 (reg’s released soon) provide our NZ crews a huge opportunity to do the first two rounds of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship and qualify for the final in India, the shootout for the crown of 2019 Asia Pacific Rally Champion.

The 2019 event will kick off on Thursday 2nd / Friday 3rd May with the traditional two pass recce.  Then the teams head to the amazing Te Matau a Pohe Bridge (Pohe Island) for the Ceremonial Start, which is then followed by the new and improved Super Special stage. This year the Whangarei District Council have approved a very exciting facelift of the SSS, with addition of a jump and some adjustments to the stage layout to add more spectacle in front of the Te Matau a Pohe Bridge for spectators, it should make for exciting viewing.

Saturday will see the crews tackle the demanding stages north of Whangarei, while Sunday will be based on the WRC roads to the south of Whangarei. The ceremonial finish for the IROW will be held in Whangarei’s town basin on Sunday afternoon, and a new format will be in place for the ROW finish. Headquarters will be at the newly re-named Northland Events Centre, Okara Drive, with the service park just down the road on the corner of Okara Drive and Port Road.

With superstar Irish Driver Frank Kelly confirmed for both the Otago Rally in April, and the Rally of Whangarei, it is set to be an exciting event for all involved.

IROW and ROW organisers are working on the finer details for release in the new year but have confirmed the event outline with the support of the Whangarei District Council and Far North District Council.

Keep an eye out for more information in the new year about this iconic event, entry deals and some of the exciting overseas entries coming to Whangarei.

For more information, please contact: Event Coordinator | Merran Brockie-David | m: 021 272 5596 | e:


Rally of Whangarei


The FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) is one of the premier regional championships in world rallying and is contested by teams from New Zealand, Australia, China, Czech Republic, Japan, Malaysia, India, and New Caledonia. In 2024 we are excited to host the FINAL round, where this years champion will be crowned.